The Official Star Trek Movie Forum

The Official Star Trek Movie Forum > Star Trek > General Star Trek Discussions > TV Shows > Voyager > Voyagers power consumption
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-28-2008, 01:46 AM
Emergency Command Hologra's Avatar
Emergency Command Hologra Emergency Command Hologra is offline
Ensign
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 30
Default Voyagers power consumption

Ok voyager had replicater rations and was conserving power then why was the Holo deck running like 24/7 and the doctor as well if you look at the ship at any point during the 7 seasons they have like every light on what the heck I guess the replicater rations was just enough lol
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-28-2008, 06:50 AM
Saquist's Avatar
Saquist Saquist is offline
Fleet Admiral
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 11,257
Default

I imagine it was running all the time because they were always using the rations...or rather some of the 150 aboard were using the holodeck....and it's necessay...

otherwise embrase cabin fever.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-28-2008, 07:17 AM
sir num nums sir num nums is offline
Rear Admiral
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sherwood, AR
Posts: 2,357
Default

I often thought the same thing...

Why did they have to suffer through Neelix's cooking when all they had to do was go in to "Gray" mode.

As for the Holodeck, I think Janeway said early in season 1 to allow the Holodeck to run because that's all the crew had for entertainment.

I think Voyager had 2 Holodecks right? So, another way they could have saved energy would have been to move the sick bay to the other Holodeck, and the sick bay could have been used as an overflow for emergencies.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-02-2008, 02:44 AM
Saquist's Avatar
Saquist Saquist is offline
Fleet Admiral
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 11,257
Default

That's actually good triage practice nums
In houston the George R Brown conventioin center and the Astro Dome were used in such a way for the Katrina survivors...They really did need to take advantge of that space.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-05-2008, 05:31 AM
arutha's Avatar
arutha arutha is offline
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: deep underground
Posts: 404
Default

the powergrid of the holodeck was somewhat different from that of the rest of the ship. They could not mix them, I think they tried that.
__________________
Inter Arma Enim Silent Leges
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-05-2008, 08:13 AM
Trekman7's Avatar
Trekman7 Trekman7 is offline
Ensign
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Alaska
Posts: 61
Default

Before the Doctor got his Mobile Emitter, he got turned off frequently enough. When he did get his mobile emitter it didn't take up any energy from the ship so the Doctor really didn't affect the power supply....
__________________
"I believe I speak for everyone here sir, when I say, 'To hell with our orders'" - Data




Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-07-2008, 10:30 PM
sir num nums sir num nums is offline
Rear Admiral
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sherwood, AR
Posts: 2,357
Default

Speaking of power usage...

Replicating items takes energy right? So, how the world did they get the energy to replicate the parts for not just one, but the second Delta Flyer?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-07-2008, 11:36 PM
Saquist's Avatar
Saquist Saquist is offline
Fleet Admiral
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 11,257
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by arutha View Post
the powergrid of the holodeck was somewhat different from that of the rest of the ship. They could not mix them, I think they tried that.
Good point...I forgot about that...
Must be some sort of transformer for those genators
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-08-2008, 04:57 AM
NCC-73515's Avatar
NCC-73515 NCC-73515 is offline
Fleet Admiral
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Heidelberg, Germany
Posts: 7,207
Default

num nums, they could also have used trash they found in space... remember the borg pieces in the cargo bay? perhaps they collect trash, melt it and form new parts...
__________________


"English! I thought I dreamed hearing it!"?
Khan, Space Seed (TOS)

Brought to you in living color by NCC.
-= first fan member =-

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-08-2008, 10:21 AM
sir num nums sir num nums is offline
Rear Admiral
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sherwood, AR
Posts: 2,357
Default

That is a good point, but I think they put trash and scrap in to the replicators to recycle. But, I guess by doing that they also were able to get some power usage from the scraps as well?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:17 AM.


Forum theme courtesy of Mark Lambert
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2009 by Paramount Pictures. STAR TREK and all related
marks and logos are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc. All Rights Reserved.