The Official Star Trek Movie Forum

The Official Star Trek Movie Forum > Star Trek > General Star Trek Discussions > Literature > Novels, Novellas, Short Stories > Before Dishonor (spoiler)
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 07-18-2009, 02:58 PM
Admiral

Default Before Dishonor (spoiler)

Has anyone else read this novel by Peter David.

I couldn't put it down and then at the end I couldn't believe how he left Janeway. I know you have to suspend reality to a certain extent to believe in the Star Trek Universe, but really!

I am a bit of a baby when it comes to the endings of books, tv and films. I like a happy ending and this was anything but. Besides, I'm no scientist but I would think if a borg cube ate Pluto, there would be some catastrophe on earth. Surely all the planets/ planetoids (whatever classification Pluto has this week) have some kind of effect on each other.

Anyway, I've been wanting to get that off my chest for a while. Janeway would never succumb to the Borg! (unlike some we could mention!)

"Unless you have something a little bigger in your torpedo tubes, I'm not turning around!"
Old 07-25-2009, 04:42 AM
Rear Admiral

The decision to off Janeway also came from the editors of Pocket Books who felt that there wasn't too much they could continue to do with the character now that she was an admiral and no longer in command of a ship. They didn't want to have her be just some mouthpiece from Starfleet relaying orders from Earth, so the decision was made to write her out.

Ultimately, however, Janeway died a hero. Her sacrifice saved Earth from the third Borg offensive.

Voyager post-Janeway

Last edited by Commodore : 07-25-2009 at 04:45 AM.
Old 08-09-2009, 05:37 AM
Captain

I thought someone said that Q saved Janeway from dying?
Old 08-09-2009, 02:13 PM
Admiral