The Official Star Trek Movie Forum

The Official Star Trek Movie Forum > Star Trek > Off Topic Discussions > Cant watch ST
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-08-2008, 07:23 AM
Borgman's Avatar
Borgman Borgman is offline
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Borgcube
Posts: 307
Default Cant watch ST

I'm having a problem watching Star Trek on my PC. I can watch other DVDs such as Dracula when when i put in Star Trek it says no DVD in slot . I think it might be something to do with codes maybe? can anyone help me please
__________________
President of the Pine will be Fine campaign
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-08-2008, 07:38 AM
Jed Starkiller's Avatar
Jed Starkiller Jed Starkiller is offline
Admiral
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 4,515
Default

Other DVD's play but not the Star trek ones? MMM Where do you live (Country) and where did you get the DVD's?
__________________
"VOTE ZARDOZ/MENHEIM IN 2012"
Vice Floating God Head
Patron of Eliza's Avatar Lab
Founding member of The League of Extraordinary Oddballs
A new tech support site http://www.community.jvgeek.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-09-2008, 12:03 AM
Borgman's Avatar
Borgman Borgman is offline
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Borgcube
Posts: 307
Default

I live in England and i got the DVD's from Amazon UK .
__________________
President of the Pine will be Fine campaign
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-09-2008, 05:04 AM
Jed Starkiller's Avatar
Jed Starkiller Jed Starkiller is offline
Admiral
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 4,515
Default

I would thank they would be the correct region if you got them from AmazonUK. I dont know. If they say the region on them make sure they are the same as the Dracula one. (I dont remember what region is what # off hand)
__________________
"VOTE ZARDOZ/MENHEIM IN 2012"
Vice Floating God Head
Patron of Eliza's Avatar Lab
Founding member of The League of Extraordinary Oddballs
A new tech support site http://www.community.jvgeek.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-09-2008, 07:53 AM
MissionTrek08's Avatar
MissionTrek08 MissionTrek08 is offline
Fleet Admiral
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 5,562
Default

The UK is region 2 for DVDs.

As long as the discs aren't DVD-R 'dubs', they should play in any DVD player or drive for the correct region.

It's possible that your DVD player software doesn't like those particular discs' encoding or such (no idea why), but try playing the discs with a different application or perhaps download a different DVD player.
__________________

MISSION:TREK's in-depth review of STAR TREK


Proud member of the Friends of Zardoz Association. Avatar courtesy of Eliza's House of Avatars with three convenient locations near you. Free balloons for the kids!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-10-2008, 09:29 PM
Elizadolots's Avatar
Elizadolots Elizadolots is offline
Admiral
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 4,466
Default

Possibly you have the first season on HYBRID disc....look closely at the inner circle...if there's a message telling you which side is high def and which side isn't abide by the "isn't" instruction when putting the disc in the machine.
__________________


Thanks to Ron Salon for the signature banner!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-11-2008, 01:47 AM
Borgman's Avatar
Borgman Borgman is offline
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Borgcube
Posts: 307
Default

No i diont think they are the Hybrid ones but i will try downloading a different player see if that works.
__________________
President of the Pine will be Fine campaign
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-11-2008, 06:09 PM
buffs79's Avatar
buffs79 buffs79 is offline
Commander
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow
Posts: 953
Default

could be that your DVD is a different region. Is your PC DVD drive outfitted for US or UK or what?
And maybe your PC is a Jedi!
:O
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-13-2008, 09:32 AM
Chroniton Chroniton is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Gamma Guadrant
Posts: 269
Default

NTSC or PAL?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:25 AM.


Forum theme courtesy of Mark Lambert
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2009 by Paramount Pictures. STAR TREK and all related
marks and logos are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc. All Rights Reserved.