The Official Star Trek Movie Forum

The Official Star Trek Movie Forum > Star Trek > Off Topic Discussions > Guitar players? I need purchasing advice.
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 07-31-2008, 07:41 AM
Commander

Default Guitar players? I need purchasing advice.

I've been playing an acoustic for 10 years. I've taken classes and I have instructional books and stuff. I am looking to buy my first and possibly only electric guitar, something to grow old with. I'm not quite the beginner and I'm not a pro. Its mainly for my own personal enjoyment. I don't plan to make public appearances.

I don't have the time to go to a guitar store to try everything out. I am 5ft. short and have small hands, so I'm thinking solid body Fender Strat? The Squires? or the Fender mini? I need advice? Should I buy those Fender kits that come with the small amps? I live in an apartment and don't need the loudness. They are like $200.

The style I want to play is jazz and blues. Hard body, hollow body? Should I just buy the $100 China made? $400 Mexico made Fender Strat.. or not buy a Fender?

http://www.dianahuang.com
Old 07-31-2008, 08:17 AM
Federation Councillor

If you wish to play Jazz/Blues, I would reccomed a hollow body Gibson, they make several models for Jazz. You can also check pawn shops.
Old 07-31-2008, 11:59 AM
Commander

sorry, the only experience is in Rock Band

Old 07-31-2008, 12:05 PM
Fleet Admiral