The Official Star Trek Movie Forum

The Official Star Trek Movie Forum > Star Trek > Off Topic Discussions > Super 8 Trailer
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-11-2011, 09:04 AM
Fleet Admiral

Default Super 8 Trailer

http://www.aintitcool.com/node/48833

I'm not nearly as excited as the guy who wrote the article, but I'm not really a product of the ET era. What do you all think?
Old 03-11-2011, 09:25 AM
Federation Councillor

Yeah, Super 8 is definitely on my radar as one of the summer films I most want to catch. Pirates 4 can crash and burn for all I care, but I really do genuinely hope this is a good, solid film that does well and doesn't let me down too much.

I liked this trailer and especially the music. In that sense, yep I can say that I do get a sort of CE3K/ET vibe from the initial parts of the trailer and that score. It looks authentically 70s from what I can tell. It's kept my interest high for the film.

I kinda hope though, that as a Spielberg homage Abrams doesn't miss the point of Spielberg's 70s flicks and have the 'whatever it is' be some sort of generic Cloverfield monster that just kills. E:T and CE3K were mysterious, but also wondrous and his creatures/aliens were ultimately benign. Light, not dark.

I think if he doesn't have something of that wonder up his sleeve in the film he'll have missed the point of Spielberg's movies at that time IMO. Of course the flip side would be that if it were a true Spielberg homage the audience might be expecting that...............lol!

courtesy of Saquist

Last edited by kevin : 03-11-2011 at 09:33 AM.
Old 03-11-2011, 10:35 AM
Fleet Admiral

The trailer makes it look like the usual Abrams stuff, technically well done but without any heart or core. He might have learned to become a bit more kitschy from Spielberg but I doubt that he has reached Spielberg's authentic warmth.