The Official Star Trek Movie Forum

The Official Star Trek Movie Forum > Star Trek > Off Topic Discussions > interiors test for my Galactica project...
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-13-2011, 12:27 PM
martok2112's Avatar
martok2112 martok2112 is offline
Fleet Admiral
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: River Ridge, LA
Posts: 6,458
Default interiors test for my Galactica project...

Here's another test shot from my upcoming Galactica project.

I built the interior Galactica corridors in just a few hours. The corridors were built using Blender, and the functioning doors were part of the iClone Starship Interiors package. At the end of the corridor in the second camera angle is a photographic plane, used to make the corridor look even more vast than it really is. I connected two corridor pieces, and then used the plane to create the illusion of a third.
The character walking in the corridor is Starbuck's new protegee, Lt. Shaen.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-16-2011, 12:22 PM
martok2112's Avatar
martok2112 martok2112 is offline
Fleet Admiral
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: River Ridge, LA
Posts: 6,458
Default

Ok, I think I've finally licked part of the shadows issue. I have to use a single director light, and single point light, otherwise, the shadows disappear. Also, this means I'll have to shift the light sourcing when shooting in other parts of the corridor set, but that's not a major deal at all.

The first video, using "self-cast" shadowing, puts me in the mind of "ALIEN" or 1984's "DUNE". The second video looks much more correct, with "drop" shadow effects. I'm sure as I experiment further, I'll get even more dynamic effects. But for now, this looks really good in my opinion.

The ALIEN/ 1984's DUNE effect:


The more proper effect:
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-17-2011, 06:43 AM
Roysten's Avatar
Roysten Roysten is offline
Commander
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Yorkshire, England
Posts: 901
Default

Very nice, what software are you using for it?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-17-2011, 12:26 PM
martok2112's Avatar
martok2112 martok2112 is offline
Fleet Admiral
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: River Ridge, LA
Posts: 6,458
Default

Thanks, Roysten. I'm glad you like it.

To build the corridors and the little lights hanging on the wall supports, I used Blender. Final assembly, light manipulation, and animation were done with iClone PRO.

I built the corridors in just a few hours. (Thank God for redundant walls sometimes...LOL!)
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-18-2011, 12:50 PM
Roysten's Avatar
Roysten Roysten is offline
Commander
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Yorkshire, England
Posts: 901
Default

I use Blender as well, not heard of IClone before.

I tried making a TNG style corridor last year, it worked quite well but can never the textures and shading to look realistic. Have also tried making a set of quarters as well.

What other stuff have you made?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-18-2011, 03:53 PM
martok2112's Avatar
martok2112 martok2112 is offline
Fleet Admiral
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: River Ridge, LA
Posts: 6,458
Default

Conversely, Roysten, I haven't mastered texturing in Blender yet. All texture details I do are in iClone.

iClone is a 3D character and prop animation program created by a company called Reallusion. The iClone PRO version program costs probably around 200 to 250 bucks.

Other stuff I've made? I've posted some previous threads, but no one responded to them...(lack of interest, I'm guessing?). As soon as I learned the basics of Blender, I fabricated my first model in 5 days, the Colonial battlestar. After I built the major components, I assembled them in iClone. (After converting the ship from .obj to .vns using an app --also made by Reallusion-- called 3DEXChange). Then I did final assembly of the ship in iClone, and added certain hull details...like the red striping, and the engine and window glows.

After that, any models I built were done in less than half the time...on average, about two days per model, assuming I get enough "behind the keyboard" time in. I've made the Colonial Battlestar, the Cylon Basestar, the Colonial Viper, the Cylon Raider, Cylon Centurion armor, Colonial blaster pistol and rifle, Viper pilot helmet, and Colonial gunbelt with speed draw holster, Colonial Shuttle, and Colonial Landram.

My next construct will either be the Imperious Leader's throne room, or the Galactica's bridge.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-18-2011, 08:56 PM
Admiral Archer's Avatar
Admiral Archer Admiral Archer is offline
Lieutenant Commander
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Foothill Ranch, CA
Posts: 743
Default

Reminds me of a cross between the TOS corridors and the TMP/TNG corridors.
__________________
"To boldly go where no man has gone before"

--ADMIRAL JONATHAN ARCHER--

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-18-2011, 09:57 PM
martok2112's Avatar
martok2112 martok2112 is offline
Fleet Admiral
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: River Ridge, LA
Posts: 6,458
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Admiral Archer View Post
Reminds me of a cross between the TOS corridors and the TMP/TNG corridors.
They do, don't they? And the funny thing is, if you look carefully at the second camera angle in the videos, you'll notice that I used a Star Trek TMP trick to make the corridors look even more vast. I placed a plane at the end of the second corridor segment, and it is simply an image of another corridor section, so that it looks like the corridor goes on even further than it actually does. Just like in the engineering section of Star Trek TMP.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-19-2011, 08:08 AM
mmoore's Avatar
mmoore mmoore is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: OKUSA
Posts: 1,973
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martok2112 View Post
They do, don't they? And the funny thing is, if you look carefully at the second camera angle in the videos, you'll notice that I used a Star Trek TMP trick to make the corridors look even more vast. I placed a plane at the end of the second corridor segment, and it is simply an image of another corridor section, so that it looks like the corridor goes on even further than it actually does. Just like in the engineering section of Star Trek TMP.
You'll see that same trick on DS9 too.
__________________
"Are you out of your Vulcan mind?"
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-19-2011, 09:22 AM
martok2112's Avatar
martok2112 martok2112 is offline
Fleet Admiral
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: River Ridge, LA
Posts: 6,458
Default

And an efficient trick it is, too.
__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:15 AM.


Forum theme courtesy of Mark Lambert
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2009 by Paramount Pictures. STAR TREK and all related
marks and logos are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc. All Rights Reserved.