The Official Star Trek Movie Forum

The Official Star Trek Movie Forum > Star Trek > Star Trek XI: The Movie > Why don't they tell the turboshaft....
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-29-2009, 04:34 PM
lonstar70 lonstar70 is offline
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 320
Default Why don't they tell the turboshaft....

....where to go? I always loved that touch. Kirk runs into the lift, turns the knob, and says, "Bridge!" That was totally absent in the new movie.
__________________
Captain Kirk to the Enterprise in "The Naked Time":

"I'll never lose you!"
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-29-2009, 04:38 PM
AyanEva AyanEva is offline
Commander
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,452
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lonstar70 View Post
....where to go? I always loved that touch. Kirk runs into the lift, turns the knob, and says, "Bridge!" That was totally absent in the new movie.
Looked like there was keypad in this one. Maybe some sort of drop-down menu that you navigate with up/down/right/left keys? Then of course there's the one button that's a "stop lift" button.

I agree though. I like the idea of simply calling out where you want to go. I'm glad they got rid of the handle thing but I do miss the verbal command element.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-29-2009, 04:45 PM
JSnyder4's Avatar
JSnyder4 JSnyder4 is offline
Commander
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 942
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lonstar70 View Post
....where to go? I always loved that touch. Kirk runs into the lift, turns the knob, and says, "Bridge!" That was totally absent in the new movie.
Best guess?
The turbolift seems keyed to vital areas of the ship for exceptionally rapid response to those areas. So a simple button push of the designated key area is all that is needed.
Spock pushed a button and went from the shuttlebay to the bridge in almost nothing flat; literally. Don't recall how many buttons were on the panel, but I can't imagine more than half a dozen or so.

Interestingly, Chekov has to run from the bridge to a (the?) transporter control room so it appears to be that ship service is not a vital function needing a superduper fast turbolift access point.
__________________
"I go online sometimes, but everyone's spelling is really bad, and it's... depressing."
"Tact is just not saying true stuff. I'll pass"
"A sacrifice a day keeps Jesus away"

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-30-2009, 01:39 AM
kevin's Avatar
kevin kevin is offline
Federation Councillor
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: East Kilbride, Glasgow, UK
Posts: 21,078
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JSnyder4 View Post
Best guess?
The turbolift seems keyed to vital areas of the ship for exceptionally rapid response to those areas. So a simple button push of the designated key area is all that is needed.
Spock pushed a button and went from the shuttlebay to the bridge in almost nothing flat; literally. Don't recall how many buttons were on the panel, but I can't imagine more than half a dozen or so.

Interestingly, Chekov has to run from the bridge to a (the?) transporter control room so it appears to be that ship service is not a vital function needing a superduper fast turbolift access point.
Agreed - I think the turbolift network on the ship is not as extensive as maybe previously thought but used to connect areas of the ship that need to be gotten to very quickly.

Though since presummably Spock's turbolift had to go along the secondary hull, up the neck, along the saucer and up into the dome - it did seem to move there extremely fast!
__________________
'If the Apocalypse starts, beep me!' - Buffy Summers
'The sky's the limit.....' Jean-Luc Picard, 'All Good Things'


courtesy of Saquist
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-30-2009, 01:46 AM
AyanEva AyanEva is offline
Commander
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,452
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kevin View Post
Agreed - I think the turbolift network on the ship is not as extensive as maybe previously thought but used to connect areas of the ship that need to be gotten to very quickly.

Though since presummably Spock's turbolift had to go along the secondary hull, up the neck, along the saucer and up into the dome - it did seem to move there extremely fast!
I bet your ears end up popping because of the speed. Like the express elevators on a really tall building.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-30-2009, 01:48 AM
theGeekKing's Avatar
theGeekKing theGeekKing is offline
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 255
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AyanEva View Post
I bet your ears end up popping because of the speed. Like the express elevators on a really tall building.
I'd hope they'd have the pressurization tech necessary to prevent ear-poppage in general.
ears popping in the 23rd century? what kind of future'd that be?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-30-2009, 02:07 AM
AyanEva AyanEva is offline
Commander
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,452
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theGeekKing View Post
I'd hope they'd have the pressurization tech necessary to prevent ear-poppage in general.
ears popping in the 23rd century? what kind of future'd that be?
lolz Maybe the airlock door helps with that.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-30-2009, 08:43 AM
DNA-1842's Avatar
DNA-1842 DNA-1842 is offline
Vice Admiral
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland, Europe, Terra - ZZ9 PluralZAlpha
Posts: 3,594
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AyanEva View Post
I bet your ears end up popping because of the speed. Like the express elevators on a really tall building.
That is caused by the pressure difference between the top and bottom of the really tall building brought on by the large central focus of gravity (the Earth).

On a Starship, they presumably have the pressure the same on every deck, because each deck has it's own source of gravity.
__________________
Gronda Gronda to all Zarking Hoopy Froods! Bowties are cool.
I Am A Friend Of


(And an indirectly founding patron of the Elizadolots Avatar Thingy.)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-30-2009, 08:48 AM
AyanEva AyanEva is offline
Commander
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,452
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DNA-1842 View Post
That is caused by the pressure difference between the top and bottom of the really tall building brought on by the large central focus of gravity (the Earth).

On a Starship, they presumably have the pressure the same on every deck, because each deck has it's own source of gravity.
Ah! I learned something new today. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-29-2009, 05:52 PM
Akula2ssn's Avatar
Akula2ssn Akula2ssn is offline
Commander
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Seattle
Posts: 1,454
Default

Problem is if the lift was strictly voice activated, Chekov would have a hard time getting around because the computer would have a hard time understanding him.
__________________

"Don't confuse facts with reality."
-Robert D. Ballard
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:19 AM.


Forum theme courtesy of Mark Lambert
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2009 by Paramount Pictures. STAR TREK and all related
marks and logos are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc. All Rights Reserved.